Boston Marathon 2017


Leon Zhao, Sports Editor

The Boston Marathon is an annual endurance competition that includes some of the top names in international distance running. Every Patriots day during the third Monday of April, Olympians such as Meb Keflezighi, Shalane Flanagan, and Wilson Kipsang meet in the city of Boston to compete in one of the most prestigious and well-known marathons. The race, however, is not limited to the elites. Any amateur runner who has made the time standard for their age and gender in a previous marathon is also able to take part in the competition.

Not surprisingly, the Kenyans dominated the foot race this year, with Geoffrey Kirui winning the men’s race in a time of 2:09:37(average 4:56 minutes per mile), and Edna Kiplagat winning the women’s race in a time of 2:21:52(average 5:24 minutes per mile). Right behind the Kenyan male leader was American Galen Rupp in 2:09:58, followed by Suguru Osako of Japan in 2:10:28. The winner of the women’s race was followed by Rose Chelimo of Bahrain in 2:22:51 and American Jordan Hasay in 2:23:00.

Though no world records for marathon running were broken this year, probably due to high temperatures, the race presented some notable highlights. American Jordan Hasay broke the record for the fastest marathon debut time by an American woman, finishing third overall in a competitive field and becoming the fourth fastest American woman in the marathon. American Galen Rupp also raced exceptionally well for his Boston debut with his second place finish. The race was the last marathon of Olympic champion and legend Meb Keflezighi, who finished 17th in the men’s race and is set to retire from competition.

Unbeknownst to most people, the Boston marathon also includes a wheelchair race. Marcel Hug of Switzerland won the men’s wheelchair race in 1:18:04 while Manuela Schar of Switzerland won the women’s race in 1:28:17, both of them breaking previous world records.