2016 Heisman Trophy Winner

Kathryn Hopkins, Sports Editor

On November 29, 2016, The University of Louisville’s very own sophomore, Lamar Jackson, won the prestigious college honor, the Heisman Trophy.  Along side Jackson were Deshaun Watson (Clemson), Dede Westbrook (Oklahoma), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma) and D’Onta Foreman (Texas).  Honestly, it was quite a shock when Jackson won, as Louisville lost the last two games of their season, and were not eligible to play in the 2016 ACC title game.  The five athletes who caught the trophy voters eyes were brought to New York City for the ceremony, at Radio City Music Hall. The Louisville starting quarterback assisted the team with 30 thrown and 21 rushed touchdowns this season, totally 51 touchdowns!  Although it came as a surprise, there was something about Jackson that the Heisman voters found charming.